Chicken and Noodles (Dairy-Free, Egg-Free)

Chicken and Noodles (dairy-free, egg-free)

Chicken and Noodles (dairy-free, egg-free)

We recently went to a potluck dinner, and someone brought a pot of chicken and noodles. It was hearty and delicious…pure comfort food. I thought to myself, “I need to make this at home!” But, most recipes I’ve found for this dish are made with egg noodles and butter, so not very allergy-friendly. I decided to develop my own recipe.

You don’t need all of the preservatives and processed ingredients found in store-bought meal helpers, not to mention the allergens. You only need pantry staples to make this classic comfort food for your family.  Plus, it is made in one pot, and it is ready in under 30 minutes! Perfect for when you just want to keep things simple.

Chicken and Noodles (Dairy-Free, Egg-Free)
© Cupcake Love

1 Tbsp. olive oil
1 Tbsp. non-dairy margarine (recommended Earth Balance Soy-Free Buttery Spread)
I medium onion, diced
3 carrots, peeled and diced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 Tbsp. all-purpose flour
Salt
Pepper
2 cups cooked chicken, shredded (I often use leftover rotisserie chicken)
1 (32 oz) box low-sodium chicken broth
1/2 bag egg-free noodles (about 3 cups of dry noodles)
1 cup frozen peas

Procedure:

  1. Heat olive oil and margarine over medium high heat. Add the onion and carrots. Saute 5 minutes until softened. Add garlic and stir.
  2. Sprinkle with flour. Season with salt and pepper to taste. Stir and cook 3 minutes.
  3. Add chicken broth a little at a time, stirring to incorporate.
  4. Add chicken and dry noodles. Mix thoroughly.
  5. Bring mixture to a boil. Reduce heat to medium flame.
  6. Cover and cook 8 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  7. Add frozen peas and stir. Add more broth or water if necessary.
  8. Allow to return to a boil. Cook another 5 minutes, until noodles are tender.
  9. Let stand 2-3 minutes to allow sauce to thicken before serving.

About Sheila Ray

I've been a full-time creative communications professional since college, and my work includes art direction, graphic design, writing and photography. I run a freelance creative marketing strategy business from my home office. I'm also a mom of two children, one of which has life-threatening food allergies. I experience, learn, and discover more about myself and God's plan for me everyday. As I share my stories, I share my faith. I hope you find my blog informational and inspirational.

11 responses to “Chicken and Noodles (Dairy-Free, Egg-Free)

  1. What brand of egg-free noodles are these? They look great! I’ve never found noodles that look like this but are egg-free. Glad to have found your blog, fellow food allergy mom!

    • The one in my pantry now is Meijer brand “egg-free noddle-style extra-wide pasta” in a clear bag with green label. The allergen statement says, “Contains Wheat ingredients. Processed ins a facility that uses egg.” Look for grocery store brands, as I don’t think I have ever found them in a name brand. If you can’t find these, I’d say maybe a fettuccine or linguine would be a good substitute, but really any pasta will work. Good luck finding them! I couldn’t find a link to the Meijer brand, but here’s another one from Walmart: http://www.walmart.com/ip/Great-Value-Egg-Free-Wide-Pasta-Ribbons-12-oz/10534090

  2. So glad I found your site … you never realize how many foods have eggs until your baby has an egg allergy! Thanks.

  3. Pingback: An Allergen-Free Weekly Menu | The Allergen Free Wifey

  4. tagerman

    This was fantastic!!! Even my picky son loved it (of course he picked out the peas, but he ate all the rest of it)!!! I can’t do dairy, so this was a wonderful receipt. Thanks so much for giving me something else to make.

  5. Mary

    This recipe is wonderful! It’s now a family favorite. Thank you!

  6. Sharon

    Hi Sheila, Could I use your recipe and bake it instead of cooking on the stove? Maybe the last 8 minutes in the oven? I want to top with a little bit of bread crumbs. Do you think it will dry it out?
    Thank you in advance for your thoughts!

    • Thanks for reaching out Sharon! I’ve never tried doing this, but I’m sure it would work as long as you put it in the oven after the second boil so the peas cook through. I don’t think it will dry out. Good luck!

  7. Sharon

    Sheila, Thank you for your prompt response!

Leave a comment