Chocolate Chip Cookies [Dairy-Free, Egg-free]

Dairy-free, Egg-free Chocolate Chip Cookies

Dairy-free, Egg-free Chocolate Chip Cookies

It’s a sunny but chilly Saturday morning. I decided to do a fun activity with the kids, so we put on our aprons and pulled out all the ingredients for Chocolate Chip Cookies. It just so happens that the recipe I decided on is made with butter and eggs. Fear not! Just replace the ingredients with their allergen-free counterparts. My big decision…how to replace the eggs?

I’ve done extensive research on egg replacers. Any expert will tell you that the egg replacer you should use depends on what you’re baking. I don’t consider myself an expert, but I have experimented A LOT. In cookies, I’ve tried Ener-G egg replacer, applesauce and baking powder, non-dairy yogurt, non-dairy sour cream, flax seed, cornstarch…there are lots of options. Below are a few links to give you some ideas for your recipe experiments.

http://www.savvyvegetarian.com/vegetarian-cooking/vegan-baking-substitutions.php

http://www.theppk.com/2007/10/vegan-baking-the-post-punk-kitchen-shows-you-how/

http://chefinyou.com/egg-substitutes-cooking/

Today for my egg replacer I’m using cornstarch and water. It serves as a binder and adds a soft texture. This recipe turned out great, but it is very possible that another egg replacer would work just as well. This is just where my experimental mood led me today.

A little baking, playing outside in the snow, and a cup of dairy-free hot chocolate with a chocolate chip cookie on the side as we waited for Daddy to come home from his business trip…I hope your day was as fun as ours!

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Makes 50-60 small cookies

Adapted from sallysbakingaddiction.com

2 cups all-purpose flour
5 teaspoons cornstarch
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup non-dairy margarine, softened to room temperature (recommended: Earth Balance Soy-Free Vegan Margarine)
3/4 cup dark brown sugar
1/4 cup sugar
2 Tablespoons water
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 cup dairy-free chocolate chips

Procedure:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper or silpat.
  2. In a small bowl, mix together flour, cornstarch, baking soda and salt. Set aside.
  3. In a large bowl using a hand-held mixer or stand mixer with paddle attachment, cream the margarine, sugars, water and vanilla extract together on medium speed until fluffy and light in color. Scrape down the sides as needed.
  4. On low speed, stir in flour mixture until combined.
  5. Stir in chocolate chips.
  6. Drop 1 Tbsp. balls of dough onto cookie sheet OR used a standard-sized cookie scoop. Flatten each ball slightly with your hand.
  7. Bake for 8-10 minutes, until barely golden brown around the edges.
  8. Allow cookies to cool for a few minutes on the cookie sheet. Transfer to a rack to cool completely.

About Sheila Ray

I've been a full-time creative communications professional since college, and my work includes art direction, graphic design, writing and photography. I run a freelance creative marketing strategy business from my home office. I'm also a mom of two children, one of which has life-threatening food allergies. I experience, learn, and discover more about myself and God's plan for me everyday. As I share my stories, I share my faith. I hope you find my blog informational and inspirational.

One response to “Chocolate Chip Cookies [Dairy-Free, Egg-free]

  1. Pingback: 24 Ideas for Dairy Free Egg Free Chocolate Chip Cookies - Best Recipes Ideas and Collections

Leave a comment